What do you do on nights like this?

Well if you haven’t seen the weather a big line of storms have rolled across KS.  This has kept me inside all evening. On these nights I like to prepare for my next adventure. This means doing research, cleaning up my gear, and pondering on the whys and why not’s of metal detecting. Here are a few more details about what I do.

1- Research: My favorite way to research is to look at plat maps from the late 1800’s and early 1900’s. I have a few places that I have been eyeballing while honing my digging skills to the point I feel proficient enough to go on private property and ask permission. For example there is a church down the road that has been there since 1912. This particular church started out as a very small church. They have expanded but still have a huge lush, perfectly manicured lawn. I can only imagine that over the last 100 years many people have played games, had picnics, and dropped coins in that lawn. I drove by it tonight and using a hint from PullTabMiner noticed that the trees haven’t had fill dirt piled up around the trunks. In my mind I can’t wait to hunt this property.

2- Cleaning: I have the same philosophy on this as I do any mechanical device. If you take care of the equipment it will serve you better when you need it. This includes wiping down the Garrett Ace 250 and White’s pinpointer with a damp rag. I also like to take my shovels out and clean them up. It amazes me that no matter how careful you are your equipment will get dirty quickly.

3- Pondering: This where I like to reflect on the hunts of recent. Think it over in my head and get a better understanding of what happened. For instance, I hunted a piece of land where an old school house was it was on some 1905 plat maps and disappeared in 1915. The land is still owned by the township. The particular day I hunted it the weather was cold and damp. It was 18 degrees to be exact. Was my mind in the right place? I had only been using my metal detector for about two weeks and I’m sure I was moving way to fast. I will definitely be hunting this site again. Hopefully the weather will be great and I will be moving slower. Maybe I will find more than electrical connectors and trash.

As a rookie in this hobby it seems like so many other hobbies that it doesn’t take but a few minutes to learn how to use the detector but it may take years to master. The whole time being totally addictive! Don’t be Saucering!

Leave a Reply

