A victim of life’s circumstances

Well, let me start off by saying that I wish I were blogging tonight about an amazing outdoor activity. However, it isn’t so. My lovely Wife lost her grandfather this week. He was a man of amazing character who always amazed me due to his spunk even at his age. There were many times that I would see him watching my sons and I play. I could almost see him replaying memories in his mind of him and his children doing the same. He will be missed by all that knew him. My wife left to be with her family on Wednesday afternoon. That means three days without momma at home and making sure four kids are taken care of. To say it has been stressful is an understatement. Thursday morning our exchange student had a cancelled flight from Dallas. Several phone calls later we finally get the necessary information to get her picked up. My youngest son didnt sleep at all Thursday night. Then I got a call from daycare that he had a rash all over his body. I left work and took him to the doctor and learned that he had strep throat. I then had to go coach a MSF class this evening. I truly believe that how a person handles these types of situations is what creates their character. Many times lately I have been frustrated, bummed, and exhausted. Really it doesn’t matter how I feel as my wife and family are what is the most important. I haven’t gotten to metal detect at all since Wednesday which was only about a 20 minute hunt, the boys and I did manage a walk on Wednesday night between storms. The weeks end was also blessed with almost 100 miles worth of motorcycling. All in all I can’t complain. Sometimes we just have to sacrifice and not be selfish.. Even if it is not the easy thing to do mentally and emotionally. Thanks for reading and I hope everyone has a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

