Little surprise…BIG Hope

Well I have to say that I got a fresh breath today in regards to metal detecting. I only hunted the sports fields close to my home. I was primarily looking for clad and jewelry. I hunted for about 2 1/2 hours total in 3 trips. I didn’t find any gold or silver but did find $3.31 in clad as well as a little surprise. During my last hunt I was detecting a different area than the first two hunts. I had plucked $.76 on this trip. The Garrett gave me a nice bell tone bouncing between 4 and 6 inches. I decided to dig. I pinpointed, dug, and retrieved a penny. It was dark but I noticed it was pretty clean. I used the light on my Whites pinpointer and noticed it was a wheatie! I put it into my back pocket and trekked on. I got home and quickly hit it with water and the ol toothbrush. I was pleasantly surprised at what I saw… A fine looking 1915 wheatie. I was even more surprised when I looked up the value of the coin. You can find a general list of wheatie values here. Even though it isn’t a precious metal it was just the kind of find I needed. Happy Hunting and thanks for reading!

One thought on “Little surprise…BIG Hope

Leave a Reply

