The MD’ing gods must have a sense of humor

So tonight I went back to a local sports field where I have been finding older coins and I know there was a homestead in the early 1900’s. Most the coins I have been digging are from the late 60’s.  I dug two wheat pennies one from the 40’s and one from the 50’s. These coins were approximately 5″ deep. I am thinking sweet I’m in the right spot. the I get a strong penny signal at 6″ I’m convinced that this could be an older wheat or maybe even an Indian head. I dig a full shovels worth of soil. I’m guessing that I’m at 6″ or so at this point. I get a faint chirp out of the propointer at the very bottom of the hole. I remove another inch or so of soil and out pops a coin.. I immediately notice that it is very corroded. It was dark and I couldn’t really see it. I put it in my pocket and continue my hunt. I get anxious to see if it is my first Indian head. I get home and the coin was in bad shape so I take a soft wire brush to it. And then I see it… The Lincoln Memorial…. Huge deflation and a gasp. I throw that nasty ol corroded up penny in the trash. As a side note I will say that it was so corroded that I couldn’t make anything out except a portion of Lincolns head and a partial memorial. My question is how does a coin like this get that deep? No other coins I have dug in this particular field are that corroded. Everything else makes sense. Coins newer than the 80’s are 2-3″ deep, 60’s- early 80’s are 3-4″ deep, and the older wheats are 4-5″ deep…. I don’t understand how in an area less than 300 sq ft. this could happen.

Please note that I am not digging this deep in soil that is dry with dead grass in it. These fields are watered and it is very easy and clean to dig a 6-7″ target and have a great looking clay plug.

After my frustration ended I got excited for a trip that I am planning to take here in the next couple of months. I still need to work out some details but I am hoping to find 3-4 buddies that want to spend a weekend hunting several homes and schools from the late 1800’s to the 1920’s… I am extremely excited for this hunt and hopeful that it will bring many firsts for me. Maybe some seateds, walkers, and indians!

2 thoughts on “The MD’ing gods must have a sense of humor

  1. I’m thinking the dirt was moved around at one point. Possibly a tree removal or something similar.

Leave a Reply

