All locked up!

This evening I hunted for about 30 minutes while Kolton had soccer practice. I have detected around these sports fields quite a bit and always find clad. Tonight I found $.16 and a pretty cool relic. I got a strong dime signal 6″ down. I dug my plug and the little “Slaymaker” ended up being about 7″ in the earth. When I got home I cleaned it up with “Krud Kutter”. I purchased this bottle at Wal-Mart and it is quickly becoming my favorite rust remover. It is thinner than Naval Jelly which allows it to get in crevices that Naval Jelly can’t. Anyways the “Slaymaker” brand was in existence between 1880 and 1986. I’m not sure of the age on this lock but I would guess it to be 60-70 years old. The more of this kind of stuff I dig the more fun I have researching them.

Happy Hunting and thanks for reading!

20121001-221148.jpg

20121001-221158.jpg

Leave a Reply

