A not so typical Saturday

Well today has been an interesting day. I started out this morning with my weekly house cleaning chores. It was raining outside so it made sense to get the inside chores done early. I then made my first trip to a coin shop. I was planning on selling my dug silvers. I have always thought that I wouldn’t sell my coins but it seemed like the right thing to do. I decided to go to Phil’s coins in West Wichita. I was recommended to Phil’s by two people who have done business with him in the past. The transaction went smoothly and I got what I felt was a fair price on my coins. I probably could have sold them for a little more to individuals but I didn’t feel like messing with that. After attending the wedding of a family friend, I did get in a 30 minute hunt that produced a few old headstamps but nothing older than the 1940’s. I am still a little sad to see my silvers go. I don’t know whether I will sell future coins or not. I wander what these coins will be worth if I pass them onto my boys. I have a big metal detecting trip planned for next weekend that will hopefully start rebuilding my coin collection! It will be two days of detecting public and private land that boomed between the 1860’s and 1880’s. We will be hunting old town parks, old hotels, old schools, old train depots, and a couple old farms. I have had a ton of fun researching these sites. I have spent hours researching plat maps and reading about the sites. My favorite research tool is the Kansas historical society website. You can find their online materials at www.kansasmemory.org. I am very optimistic that these hunts will produce more than a back ache!

Stay tuned and until next time happy hunting!

4 thoughts on “A not so typical Saturday

  1. Hey,
    I have a set of books that you might find helpful in your researching places to detect. They are a collection of articles about ghost towns of Kansas that were published in The Eagle in the early 70’s. I’m a little sad to say I liberated them from the Heights High library years ago. Send me your mailing address and I will ship them to you. On long term loan of course.
    Tim

  2. That sounds like a blast, wish I had more time to do stuff like that. what are a few of the towns you are going to

Leave a Reply

