Noreaster summary

As I wrote in Noreaster day 1 the silver coins eluded us. This whole trip really boggled my mind. I still consider myself a rookie metal detectorist; however I feel that I have learned my Ace 250 well and I know it is capable of finding pretty deep silver. I was extremely pumped about this trip. I spent hours pouring over plat maps of Jackson county Kansas. These maps were from the 1880’s and as recent as the 1930’s. While on the trip we hunted 3 towns that were founded between the 1850’s and 1870’s. These towns boomed because of agriculture and the railroads that ran through them at one time. I thought we would for sure see some barbers with seated coins not being out of the question. Here is a list of the locations we hit.

1- City park that was built in 1867. Produced one Indian head, two wheats, and two silver rings.
2- Public school from 1916. This school produced tons of clad, one Indian head, and one wheat penny.
3- Farmstead from early 1900’s. At this farm we were looking for more than coins and found several relics and not one coin.
4- Rural school from the 1870’s. This site was where I thought we would really find the goods. First hand people said it was used weekly for community meetings and 4-H meetings up until the 1940’s. There was a plethora of bottle caps but we did manage some clad and one silver ring.
5- City park from the 1880’s- absolutely nothing notable from this site.
6- City park from the 1860’s- This was one of the most beautiful parks I have seen. The city has done a great job of mixing history and present day. We dug some clad and a non silver ring.
7- Park from the 1880’s- this park was on our way home and has been hit by many detectorists from the Wichita area. We found an old token, a wheatie, and some clad.

Now this is where I get lost. If I look at these locations on paper it looks great. After 32-34 combined hours of hunting them without the success I hoped for I have to wonder. I have some thoughts on why we didn’t get the results we wanted.

1- Were the locations hunted out? I don’t think so. These towns are very small and off the beaten path. I can’t imagine MD’ers hunting them on a regular basis (especially gridding them).
2- Was the good stuff ever there? With most locations being in towns of less than 500 people maybe coins were not dropped.
3- Did average people carry silver? I’m wondering if the average park goer carry dimes, quarters, and halve dollars? Considering the only old coins we found were cents it makes me wonder.
4- Did we hunt them the right way? My hunting method was scramble until I found something that resembled a coin and then start gridding the area.
5- Would a different detector help? I don’t see this as being a big factor. We swung 3different detectors. A Garrett Ace 250, Fisher F2, and a Garrett AT Pro.

I would love to discuss this hunt with someone who has researched old spots and had success hunting them. What are your thoughts on the hunt. My hindsight says we should have forgotten public property and focused more attention on private residences. All three towns had many homes from the same time in history.

Happy hunting and thanks for reading! I apologize for the length of this post but like I said my mindis boggled.

One thought on “Noreaster summary

  1. I am sure if I had gone, it’d be a different story…he he he…

    Sometimes you eat the bear, sometimes the bear hunts out the spots you want to hunt

Leave a Reply

