The little Ace amazes me sometimes….

Well the little Ace did it again. This machine flat out amazes me sometimes. This week I have been at a tradeshow in a neighboring town. This town is old and has several old parks. I decided to detect over my lunch break. There was a park only a mile or so from the convention center. This park is surrounded by homes from the early 1900’s. My thought of homes lining the street were quickly confirmed by finding a buried walk that led to nothing. It was a cool 43 degrees after a small front moved through last night. I started swinging and immediately got an odd deep signal. Since I was unfamiliar with the soil in this area I dug it. At about 8″ I found an unfired .22 bullet. The bullet had a U stamped on the bottom. Quick research says that it is a bullet made by United Metallic Cartridge in the early 1900’s before the company was purchased by Remington. I proceeded to dig several clad coins and then I got a sweet deep belltone. Another great target was found at 8″. It is a 1912 wheatie without a mint mark. I left on that note and headed back to an afternoon of trade showing.

As much as I love the little Ace 250 I am thinking that it may be time to graduate to the next level of metal detector. I kind of think of metal detectors the same as golf clubs, pool cues, or fishing rods. I dont see the point of upgrading until you have reached a certain level in the “sport”. For instance, I have the same set of golfing irons that I bought used in the year of 1999 or so. I don’t play golf often enough or well enough to justify expensive clubs. My detecting addiction seems more like my passion for fishing. I have dedicated the time and effort to the hobby and I can see the benefit of having a better machine. The hard part is figuring out which direction to go. In my mind there are three levels of detectors. Beginning, intermediate, and high end machines. There are several machines I would like to have. But that doesn’t clarify where I should go. I know guys who have or do swing multiple detectors of different levels. I am thinking the next step should be an intermediate machine. I know some beginners who went straight to a high end machine and always seemed confused and unsure of their programs on them. The Whites V3i , Minelab E-trac, and XP Deus are all high end machines that seem to do very well. The Garrett AT Pro, Minelab 505 and 705, Whites MXT, and many others I would consider intermediate level machines. I look forward to swinging a few different machines before making a decision on which direction to go. A fellow hunter has offered me his White’s DFX to try and I swung a Garrett AT Pro for about an hour last weekend. I do not know anyone who has a mid level Minelab that I could try out though. As you can tell I am open to all brands but I just want to find a machine that fit’s my desires and needs. Hopefully some good unbiased opinions will come up in the weeks and months that follow. Most importantly with any machine is taking the time to learn it and learn it well!

Happy hunting.. Signed confused detectorist who doesn’t know what he wants!

3 thoughts on “The little Ace amazes me sometimes….

  1. steve – sounds like you are a few steps a head of me with your experience and commitment. It will be interesting to see where you go. my hunting partner and I were just having this conversation after our lunchtime hunt Tuesday, and right now we are in agreement that it may have to wait till after retirement to make the step up past our ace 250s. With kids and work it is hard to imagine justifying, but looking forward to the day where we can spend a weekday with a cooler of beer as home base in middle of park to compare finds. The other thing we agreed to is it would be torture to take a step back to our earlier detectors. HH and maybe let me know of one your local group hunts would love to join you guys and finally put a face to the posts that I have been enjoying.

    1. Jeff, I am glad to see that I’m not the only nutty one who hunts on their lunch breaks!! I don’t think the Little ace 250 will ever leave the tool shed. For an introductory or beginner machine it is a great value! Do you ever hunt on the weekends? There are several members of the Friendly Metal detecting forum that get together on the weekends to hunt. Shoot me your phone number and hopefully we can get together and hunt. I can be reached at steveouke@gmail.com

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  2. Steve,
    I can offer a little advice here…BTW I’m gsmith on friendly and live in Wichita, I’ve been detecting for going on 20yrs….had a old whites for years and years…never thought about upgrading till a couple of years ago when the atpro first came out…to make a long story short I got tired of sending it back to Garretts every few months so I traded it and within a years time I’ve gone thru : Xterra 505, Xterra 705, Minelab Safari, Fisher F75ltd, T2 SE, Nautilus 2ba, and a CZ-3D…and I can tell you by my own experience around here in this soil..NONE…NOT one of them held a candle to the AtPro!…only the F75 and the Nautilus were as deep and none of them id’ed as well at depth as the Pro…Back in June I gave up trying to find a “better” detector and went back to the AtPro and with Garrett having the problems ironed out on them, haven’t looked back yet….Most bang for the buck in the industry right now ….just my 2 cents

Leave a Reply

