The quest for 100

Well I want to start out tonight by stating a goal of mine for 2013. My goal is to find 100 silver coins. Some may think I am trying to accomplish this to make money. They would be completely wrong. I made myself a promise that I wouldn’t sell my silver coins for melt but instead hand them down to my sons once they mature enough.
The reason I want to find 100 silver coins is simply to prove that with research, patience, and knowing your detector you don’t have to spend a small fortune on a detector. I have been feeling some peer pressure to upgrade and I have been reading all the success stories on the forums and so forth. I just don’t see me justifying big bucks on a detector. I truly haven’t seen a high end detector that makes me say wow! I have detdcted with guys swinging all levels of machines. They all have their positives and negatives. That being said I will not upgrade until I see the wow factor. The stories below help solidify my thoughts!

Last Friday over my lunch break I was detecting an old elementary school in Wichita. I found a good coin in horrible shape. You can check out the video here. I found a 1908 S Barber dime.

20130121-231853.jpg

Saturday afternoon I was detecting with a couple of friends at another old elementary school and pulled out a 1926 mercury dime.

20130121-232104.jpg

These two silver coins make my 2013 count 4. I have a long way to go but I think the little Ace250 and I can do it. As it stands right now I have about $300 in this great hobby and the amazing little Ace has payed for itself and then some! I look forward to seeing how the year ends up!

Thanks for reading and happy hunting ( no matter what kind of detector you use !
Steve *\_

One thought on “The quest for 100

  1. aye! aye! Good post.

    Me, I am in it completely for the money. LOL!

    I actually buy silver coins to give to my sons when they are old enough but you can bet that if I find a couple of seated coins, those are not getting sold.

Leave a Reply

