Folded #5

Well today in between a home fencing project and one of the Ukena boys having a basketball game I got in a short hunt. One of my detecting buddies from a neighboring town and I made plans to meet at the ol wheat field that keeps on giving. We have dug 3 coins from this field that are pre 1900. I got to the site at about 12:00 and got to swinging the first target I decided to dig was a small folded disc that resembled lead slag at first. The more I looked at it the more I thought it resembled a coin. It was about the thickness of a dime and looked like a folded disc. I came to the conclusion that it was a coin but there was nothing identifying it as so. We continued to hunt and my buddy dug an old copper out of the field that we couldn’t identify. I believe it is probably an old indian head based on the history of digging an 1883 and 1888 indian out of this field. Anyways when I got home I gently stuck a then metal blade into my taco’ed shiny disc. After gently prying it back I saw the lettering States. This confirmed that it was a coin and I couldn’t resist the temptation to see if it was my first seated coin or not. I finally got it opened up and could see that it was a Barber dime. When I look at it under my loupe I can see the numbers 189.. It is an 1890 something Barber. I don’t think I have to worry about sending this one in to get graded! This is my 5th silver for the year and I am still running a little behind on my 100 silver coin goal for this year.

Folded Barber

Barber Opened up

3 thoughts on “Folded #5

  1. Steven this looks like such great fun. I’ve been wanting to find your website so I can follow your adventures. What fun lol

    1. It is a very fun and addictive hobby. The mystery of what lays below us is what makes it such a rush. When I tell people we find pre 1900 coins in a farm field they are pretty taken back.

  2. I like the website Steven, hope to get to do some detecting with you in the future. Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

