Just get… Outside

Well today was a great day to be outside. The morning started with a trip to a location that has been nicknamed “Silver City”. This site has been producing silvers fairly consistently. The hunt didn’t let me down today. I dug a 1936 wheat and a 1946 Roosevelt dime.
Today’s Coins

20130203-194654.jpg
I also found a lipstick case that I believe dates back to the 1940’s. Color included!

20130203-194909.jpg

Upon arriving back home Queen Ukena was a little upset that the “short hunt” had taken four hours. A conversation took place about the amount of time i have been spending detecting. This got me thinking. I started reflecting on my finds over the last year. For those that have followed my blog over the last year, you know that my good finds didn’t start until about 4 months into detecting. And the last 3-4 months I have been more consistent than all previous months. I think this is due to the quality of sites I have been hunting. I did some rough figures of how much time I have hunted over the last year. I would venture to say I have detected 350-400 hours over the year. That would be about 7 hours a week. I think what this means is that I will have to find and hunt only the most prime sites. I am certain that my little Ace and I can make our goal for the year even if we reduce hours spent and increase the quality of our sites.

Later in the day the two oldest Ukena boys and I went into Derby and played disc golf. This is another activity that we enjoy a couple times a year. We then went looking for Geocache called Arbor Lands geocode GCQARB. This was a fun hunt. We had to cross a mostly dry creek and then try to find the cache. We spent about 40 minutes searching for it but came up
empty handed.

All in all it was a great day to be outside! Now the challenge is to get Queen Ukena outdoors with us!

Thanks for reading and happy hunting!

Steveouke *\_

Leave a Reply

