Where is the love?

Tonight I want to write about something that has very little to do with metal detecting.. Love! For those of you that know me on a personal level, you know that our family has been battling illness for the last couple of weeks. It started with me having a sinus infection for over a week. Then 3 out of 6 family members had the flu with high fevers. I thought I was home free until Sunday night and the fever hit me. It was off and on for a couple of days. I managed to keep the fever under control. I thought it was looking up until Wednesday around noon. I thought I would go metal detecting at a local park close to work. I detected for about 15-20 minutes and got short of breath so I resided to the truck to rest for the remainder of my lunch break. As the afternoon progressed I kept having to stop and catch my breath. I knew that this was more serious than a flu bug. I called the doctors office and made an appointment for Thursday morning. I hadn’t been to the doctor since 2010. The doctor quickly started looking around. He first checked my ears and asked if I had recently had an ear infection because he could see a ruptured eardrum that was healing up. I know exactly when this happened and it was a few weeks ago. He then looked in my nose and said wow. He had never seen such a blocked sinus cavity. He then listened to my lungs and confirmed what I had thought…Pneumonia! He gave me some powerful medicine that is already helping. I had made plans for my wife and I to enjoy a meal together this evening but we put those plans aside due to us both being less than 100% and one of the Ukena boys also having a fever. During the evening I started thinking about love and how little it has to do with Valentines day. For me being there for my family and vise-versa is what true love is. It has nothing to do with a printed card, pretty flowers, or overpriced chocolates in a heart shaped box. Pay close attention to the important things in life and love will be emitted without thought.

On a metal detecting note; I look forward to getting my family and myself healthy so I can get out and swing my gizmo. Maybe my ear drum will work at a higher level which allows me to hear the Aces soft sweet belltones. Is that silver I smell?

Thanks for reading and happy hunting!

2 thoughts on “Where is the love?

Leave a Reply

