Research and organizing

Well yesterday the central KS area got round 1 of a two part winter storm. My area got 3 inches of snow and they are calling for more overnight. The weather forecasts say we could have 6-9 more inches. This does not make me happy because I can’t get out and swing my gizmo. That being said I want to talk about a couple other topics.

Research
When the weather turns bad, I like to do research. Here is a small list of my downtime items.
1. Reading historical maps- here I am looking for things that I have missed before and new areas. My suggestion is pick a township that neighbors yours.
2. Contact landowners- go ahead and contact owners of properties you have spotted or are the result of item 1.
3. Clean your gear up- check for damage, charge all batteries, or straighten out your bent shovel. That shovel story is for a future post.

Organize-some of my readers may already read Dick Stouts blog. If you haven’t I would highly encourage you to do so. Dick is a long time detectorist who has very strong opinions about having a political activist group for metal detecting. Across the country detectorists are getting banned from parks and other areas. Whether this happens in your area or not, I think it would be a good idea to do something about it. I personally think writing letters to politicians is something anyone could do. Lately TreasureFiend posted a video about such an instance in Chicago. I think everyone should take a moment to watch it here. I agree with Mr. Stouts views on the whole situation. We shouldn’t sit back and watch these actions happen without a fight.

Happy Hunting once all the snow melts!

One thought on “Research and organizing

  1. Steve, thanks for the mention…appreciate it. Hopefully a few of your followers will look at the Cook County video, as well as copying the proposal that the MHRS club put together. You never know when you will be faced with something similar. The proposal/compromise is one of the best I’ve seen.

    Sorry to hear about the snow….

Leave a Reply

