Mundane Monday

Well today at lunch I returned to the empty lot that I recently pulled 5 wheats from. As is becoming the norm I didn’t find any keepers. Tonight I decided to get out in the beautiful weather and hunt. I quickly decided to try and find some new sites. I stopped by one property and the property owner needed to run the idea of me detecting by her husband. After dropping a card off at a couple other properties I decided to hunt a farm field that I’m certain holds my first seated coin. It is a farmfield that held a school house between the early 1880’s and the 1920’s. I have hunted this field a couple times without finding anything. Tonight I hunted a different little section for an hour or so and didn’t find anything. As I was walking back towards the truck I got a decent signal 6″ down. The thing that caught my attention about this signal was the fact that it was consistent after turning 90 degrees to it. As I dug my first plug I noticed a coin impression in the thick clay. I quickly found a coin in the sidewall of the hole. I was hoping for a barber or seated but this coin wasn’t shiny. I could quickly tell it was copper. The wreath on the reverse of the coin told me it was an Indian. It was just dusk enough that I couldn’t see a date on it. I swung a few more minutes and headed home. When I got it home I cleaned it with water just enough to get a date off of it. It turned out to be a 1900. I cannot figure out for the life of me why I’m missing the silver. Lately I have been second guessing the capabilities of the little “beginners detector” my Ace 250. I have been thinking more and more about upgrading. However everytime I think it’s time the Ace finds me something that makes me think to myself. Why upgrade? This indian rang up as a penny with a sweet belltone. I have dug many silvers that would sound the exact same. I will continue to hunt this property because I am convinced there are more goodies there. Hopefully, they have the scientific symbol AG.

WHEAT STATE TREASURE HUNTERS

Just a reminder that we will be meeting Wednesday night the 15th in North Linwood Park at 6:00 PM for our “Step Up Clean Up” initiative. I will have everyone’s T-shirts and I hope to see everyone out there.

Happy Hunting and thanks for reading!

Steve *\_

20130513-225952.jpg

Leave a Reply

