Drought in the middle of record rains

Well today I got out on two different sites. The first site has produced several old coins and many neat relics. Today the good side of my pouch was totally empty. The second site has produced wheats and silver. Again the good side of my pouch was empty… If you read my blog regularly you know that I am struggling this summer. I have found approximately 30% of the silver that I did last year. Is this a curse for challenging my buddy Miner? Is it due to me not upgrading machines? Is it a lack of good sites? Is it a lack of focus? Am I putting too much stress on it? Or not enough? These are a few of the questions bouncing like a red rubber ball through my head. I honestly think it is a combination of all except the curse thing.

– Upgrade my Machine: I struggle continuously with this one. I have confidence in my Ace but I also know I have to work harder than some of the higher end super machines. It don’t really matter because financially I can’t change anything.
– Lack of good sites: I recently lost one of my honey holes. My favorite spot to detect as a matter of fact. A certain portion of my drought could be the lack of new sites.
– Lack of focus: this could be it. Lately I have been using detecting as a wind down. Unfortunately by the time I get unwound the hunt ends and I don’t have time to re-focus.

In the end I think I am going to take a different approach. Instead of hunting to unwind I will focus on researching out new spots and getting permission to hunt them. Last year most of my good finds came out of private residences. I need to get back into these types of permissions. I am hoping to have a few new sites close to work as well as near home!

I am optimistic that between that and some farm fields getting turned over that I can finish the year strong!

Thanks for reading and happy hunting!

*\_ Steveouke

One thought on “Drought in the middle of record rains

  1. It’s the curse. Definitely. Nah! I am going through a dry spell myself. You do need to upgrade machines as soon as you are able though. Wichita and its surroundings are a tough nut to crack.

Leave a Reply

