Just a few random thoughts.

I haven’t had much time to get out and detect lately but mentally I have been running some things through my head.

Practice- If you are one of those people that only pull your detector out once a month or less I have to think you aren’t getting the practice needed to be proficient with your machine. This isn’t just true in metal detecting either. I play pool quite a bit and recently I have started playing snooker. I typically play 8 ball and 9 ball. The game of snooker is much more challenging than pool on the typically pool table. The tables are much bigger, and the pockets are much smaller. This makes pocketing balls much more difficult than the typical pool game. Now I will be the first to admit that I suck at the game of snooker. The biggest thing I have noticed is that playing snooker has caused me to focus more on all aspects of my game. I wish I would have started out playing snooker because it makes the rest of the pool games easier. What does this have to do with metal detecting. You have to know the small things that your machine is telling you. You have to focus, listen, and learn. I think this is applicable to most hobbies. I know I have been fishing all my life and the same holds true for it. I bowled for many, many years and guess what? It took many hours of practice and focus until I was satisfied with the results.
Today I got out detecting with another member of the Wheat State Treasure Hunters. We were hunting a spot that has produced old coins in the past. The site dates back to the turn of the century and it took me awhile to get into the groove. I ended the 2 hour hunt with some old clad but nothing exciting. This site is extremely trashy and I was forced to work slow and listen to all the little sounds of my machine. I did manage to find several deep old nickels. The sound they made was less than sweet but they sounded just good enough to dig. It was really nice to get out and hunt for a couple hours. I hope I can get back to swinging more because the weather and soil are perfect right now!

Thanks for reading!

*\_ Steveouke

2 thoughts on “Just a few random thoughts.

  1. Steve, I plead guilty. I will be the first to admit that as I have gotten older I’ve become lazy when it comes to being intimate with all the new technology out there. Perhaps that’s why I decided to buy an older White’s 6000di detector. I never felt more in tune with a machine that I did with that one back in the 80’s, and you know what? I have fallen in love all over again.

    As for anyone entering the pastime today, do what Steve says and learn all those nuances and whispers of your machine. It will most certainly pay dividends.

  2. Amen brother! It’s all a matter of training the ear and the brain. After digging close to a thousand (if not more!) pieces of rusty iron and other assorted bits of trash, one can begin to appreciate those signals that sound different. I found a Buffalo nickel (the 16th for the year) yesterday only because amidst the ugly sounds, there was a a sound with a certain je ne sais quoi and it led me to dig the hole. in our hobby as with anything else, practice makes perfect.

Leave a Reply

