My belated Merry Christmas post

I say belated because I haven’t been sure what to write for a Christmas post. That was until this morning…

I have a real struggle with the Christmas season. I absolutely love the holiday for the real reason we celebrate. I don’t talk much about religion either online or in real life. I love the old hymnal Christmas songs. I do get saddened when I see people rushing around spending millions and millions of dollars in Celebration of Jesus’s birth. Don’t get me wrong I love to see the smile on a child’s face and the excitement in there voice when they get a present that is spot on… But why is it the main focus for so many people? I had a couple of days off over Christmas and both were filled with family, food, fun, and friends. I had to make a last minute run to the local grocery store on Christmas Eve for Queen Ukena. Two last minute runs to be exact. I have a special relationship with the people at our local grocery store. It’s a small town grocery store that struggles to make it but the people inside are great. On my last trip to the grocery store we were discussing the holiday and the general thought was that by the time Christmas actually got here everyone was tired and ready for it to be over. My encouraging words to them were simple. Enjoy the time of fellowship with friends and family. I enjoy seeing Grandparents and Grandkids having special moments. I enjoy seeing spouses enjoying their kids. I enjoy seeing siblings laughing and having fun. Those are the things that make me smile when everyone get’s together… I also saw another trend this year in Christmas gifts. Handmade gifts were popular. I love it. My wife and I ended up making a handful of gifts and I do believe they were extremely appreciated. My boys received some handmade gifts that they love. Whether it is Art, Jewelry, Or a simple card that has emotional words… I think the thought goes deeper with these kinds of gifts than with the store purchased gifts. It just bugs me how commercialized the holiday has gotten. In closing I guess I must say that the beauty of it all is we live in a country where we are free to celebrate however we choose to do so.. 

 

Anyways I hope you had a great Christmas and you were able to spend sometime with the people that matter most to you.

 

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “My belated Merry Christmas post

  1. I agree completely. The stress involved for so many can so easily be eliminated if they simply stopped and thought about what it is they are doing to themselves and for what? Most of the gifts are old hat the day after and in many cases never used. To me it’s just a time for friends, family and good food.

    Happy Holidays Steve…

  2. +1 on Christmas, loved the family time, the real reason for Christmas and handmade gifts were the delight of sharing.
    Thanks Steve for sharing!

Leave a Reply

