Catching up

Well I have been meaning to post for a few days but I have been to busy. Anyways my detecting time hasn’t been huge but when I got out the hunt was worth it. Miner and I drove into Northern Oklahoma on Sunday and hunted with a friend who’s family farm is down there. We started our hunt on a chilly morning with the North wind not letting up. The first site was an old school house that was surrounded by plowed farmland. I was swinging the Ace250 with the 5×8 coil (not intentionally, I had forgotten my bigger coil in the truck).. The hunt started slow until our host found 3 pennies which I believe were all wheat cents. My first finds were bullets and miscellaneous garbage. The first solid coin signal I got I dug.. Kind of. My trusty little Ace told me there was a coin at two inches. It was close to being honest as the coin was on the surface. I cleaned it enough to tell it was a 1901 Indian Head cent.

20140226-204804.jpg

20140226-204821.jpg

After we finished at the school we went looking for a homestead that had long been gone. It didn’t take us long to find the old yard among the stubble and I found a wheat cent.

Monday night I decided to clean out the pouch and found another item that I had put in the trash side of the pouch. I’m glad I looked through it again. This is a pretty cool relic once you read the full story of the expo here.

20140226-214259.jpg

20140226-214335.jpg

Happy Hunting and thanks for reading!

*\_ Steveouke

5 thoughts on “Catching up

  1. ……..or, shop towels!

    It was fun and we didn’t even scratch the surface. The IPE thing is cool, especially with it being numbered and having a specific booth on the back. Found some pretty cool relics the next day too.

Leave a Reply

