Wacky Wednesday Finds

Wednesday 4-9-14

This upcoming Friday marks 4 weeks until we close on our home that we sold. The bad news is that we still don’t have a home to move into. This creates some anxiety in the house as well as a certain level of uncertainness. This evening I got home from work and called a friend who wires houses to fix a couple of minor issues that came up in the home inspection that the buyers of our home wanted. We finished up at about 6:00 this evening and then the family had a bite to eat. You may call me crazy but the weather was perfect so I got out and went detecting. I haven’t detected in a few days and my mind was telling me that I needed some swing time. I asked if the Queen minded me going out and she said I should go before I drove her crazy… I went to a homesite that has produced silver and wheats in the past. It is a pretty gnarly site that has a ton of iron. I knocked on the door and asked the Homeowner if he minded me detecting for the evening. Permission was granted. I also saw Maggie. She is maturing nicely. She is getting bigger and seems to be doing well! The hunt started off pretty good digging a few pieces of clad. Then I found a target that I couldn’t identify. At first I thought it was a cap gun but looking closer I believe I found an old toy steam tractor.

Is it an old steamy?
Is it an old steamy?

Pic of a Case 25-75
Pic of a Case 25-75

Backwards C and E with AS in the middle.. Could it be a Case 25..
Backwards C and E with AS in the middle.. Could it be a Case 25..

Anyways Maybe you guys will see/know something more than I do about this find. The next target I dug is also kind of neat. It’s a dog tag from a neighboring city.

Photo of tonights non trash finds
Photo of tonights non trash finds

While hunting I realized that we are planning on moving to a neighboring city. I have mixed emotions on this because I have put a ton of time researching our area and I hate to leave these sites behind. I guess I will have to do new research wherever we end up. I now know why Mr. Stout misses his hunting grounds that he left 1,000s of miles away. I guess I shouldn’t complain because I could probably drive 20 minutes and be back on my sites. Of course I will miss sitting down and chewing the fat with the mature retired guys at the coffee shop in the morning as well. Rumor has it that the town we want to move to doesn’t have a coffee shop where you can get to know and learn from the old timers that remember details about the area back then…

Happy Hunting and Thanks for reading.

*\_ Steveouke

Leave a Reply

