Ohhh this hobby. Why do you humble thee.

So everyone knows that I haven’t had much time to hunt lately. Yesterday I noticed that in the oldest part of our town workers had opened up some streets that went below the old brick roads… After work I immediately start hunting it scouring around the debris for old coins. I didn’t find anything but headed back to town later last night. Still only found some odd and ends but nothing extremely exciting. I decided that I would go back this morning before work. I had hunted for about 30 minutes when I got a decent signal 4″ down. Now remember they took off about 5 inches of asphalt and a layer of bricks. I dig, chisel, hack my way down 4″ and hit a thick layer of nasty black mud that is extremely sticky. My pinpointer serenades me to a coin sized object and I see the edge of my first tearout coin. I can tell it’s a copper that is encrusted in the nasty mud. I take a picture of the find and send it to Miner with the text “encrusted Indian?”.. I load my stuff and race off to work to see what amazing find I have found. Is it an Indian? maybe a fatty? what if it is a flying eagle? Ohh how ecstatic I would be. Alas I present you with my first tearout coin…

Here is the encrusted coin in it's natural state.
Here is the encrusted coin in it’s natural state.
And once I cleaned it up I realized what I had. That's right it's a $%&^&$ memorial cent.. How does that even happen!
And once I cleaned it up I realized what I had. That’s right it’s a $%&^&$ memorial cent.. How does that even happen!
2 thoughts on “Ohhh this hobby. Why do you humble thee.

  1. Great blog Steve! I hear ya on the “humble” man! I’m not much of a dirtfishin’ guy yet, mostly do the beaches but now that I have a dedicated dirt machine I will be getting in more dirtfishin’. You can follow MY adventures at my blog here on wordpress… http://mtldtktr.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

